State laws keep stopping employers from giving students apprenticeships

|

Like many small business owners, Kim Thibeau, a Connecticut salon owner, has struggled to find young workers. A local school counselor helped connect her with high school seniors interested in cosmetology. Cosmetology students usually pay $25,000 to complete the mandated 1,500 hours of education and training requirements in the state. With the closest approved school more than an hour away from their town, Thibeau tried to train the young workers in her salon instead—providing them with an affordable, effective, and convenient way to receive the training they needed.

There was just one problem: Giving the students free training was illegal under Connecticut law.